Emdashes—Modern Times Between the Lines

The Basics:
About Emdashes | Email us

Before it moved to The New Yorker:
Ask the Librarians

Best of Emdashes: Hit Parade
A Web Comic: The Wavy Rule


Martin Schneider writes:

Question: What do the following people have in common?

Steve Albini
Woody Allen
Pedro Almodóvar
Christiane Amanpour
Fiona Apple
Mikhail Baryshnikov
Samantha Bee
Manolo Blahnik
Doyle Brunson
T. Bone Burnett
Rosanne Cash
Cat Power
Tracy Chapman
Joel and Ethan Coen
Stephen Colbert
Steve Coogan
Wes Craven
Chuck D
Guillermo del Toro
Ani DiFranco
Matt Dillon
Clint Eastwood
Elizabeth Edwards
Edie Falco
Douglas Feith
The Flying Karamazov Brothers
Jamie Foxx
Ricky Gervais
Matt Groening
P.J. Harvey
Ethan Hawke
Salma Hayek
Buck Henry
Werner Herzog
D.L. Hughley
Eddie Izzard
Peter Jennings
Tommy Lee Jones
Garry Kasparov
Stephen King
Jeff Koons
Robert Klein
John Landis
Eugene Levy
Laura Linney
Rich Lowry
Mike Lupica
Reinhold Messner
David Milch
Nick Nolte
Peggy Noonan
Krist Novoselic
Conan O'Brien
Ric Ocasek
Cheri Oteri
Nick Park
Graham Parker
Mary-Louise Parker
Trey Parker and Matt Stone
Harold Ramis
John C. Reilly
Seth Rogen
Henry Rollins
Sonny Rollins
The Roots
Paul Rudd
M. Night Shyamalan
Sigur Rós
Paul Simon
Kevin Smith
Patti Smith
Jon Stewart
Oliver Stone
Tom Stoppard
Stanley Tucci
Rufus Wainwright
David Foster Wallace
Chris Ware
Gillian Welch
Robin Williams

Answer: They have all been participants of the New Yorker Festival at least once since 2000.

To my eye, anyway, they're all plausibly people you wouldn't automatically assume have been involved with the Festival, although if you have been following the event over the years, you know that the offerings are quite diverse. Whoever has been responsible for booking this event over the years is very good (or has deep pockets) (or both). I was present at exactly three of those events (Colbert, Milch, Stone).

And now they're all tags in our bloggy content management system (if they weren't already).

The 2009 New Yorker Festival takes place October 14-16. The participants will be announced in September. Personally, I'm hoping for Mark Sanford Newt Gingrich Sarah Palin Al Franken!

Post a comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, it may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Thanks for waiting.)

2008 Webby Awards Official Honoree